Hello readers! It’s been a while. Once again, my busy life has caught up with me and I haven’t had time to write. My last post was a month ago. I’m going to try to shoot for writing at least one post a month.

At the end of last month, we got new windows installed on our house. (I’ll post some pictures so you can see a before-and-after as soon as we have our house cleaned up) This was the biggest project on our “to-do” list, and it feels great to have it done. There are still many more projects on our list, but they aren’t as pressing and I feel like a great weight has been lifted off my shoulders. This is in no small part due to the fact that getting our windows was a very stressful ordeal. It seems like we’re going to be running into those a lot now that we’re homeowners. I really want to put this episode in the past, so I won’t talk about what happened here. But if you want to know, you can read my review of the company who installed our windows here. What we learned from our experience is that when it comes to home renovation, do it yourself if you can. If you can’t, do extensive research of all available companies and get quotes before choosing one!

 

So now that that’s over, what’s next for us? That is the question I keep asking myself. With our country and environment going down the tubes lately, I’ve felt a constant undercurrent of anxiety and uncertainty. I try not to think about it by focusing on my home and my family and friends. Those are the only things that really matter, after all. There are so many things I want to do, but since we don’t have unlimited time or funds, I can’t do them all right now. These include redoing our bathroom, finishing the basement, and most importantly – getting a puppy! I’ve been wanting a dog since we moved in, but we wanted to wait until summer. Now we need to wait until we’re done traveling for the summer (July at the earliest), and until we have enough money. We want a rescue dog, but even rescue/shelter puppies are far more expensive than we thought! As difficult as it is, I’ll just have to wait.

 

So I decided to start another project that I’ve been putting off for a while, but is very low risk and low cost. That is to try a less-waste lifestyle. I’m realistic, so I’m not going for zero-waste. But I’ve noticed that there are a lot of disposable things we buy that we could easily buy reusable. Sandwich bags, napkins, makeup sponges, etc. We already recycle and compost as much as possible, so I figured why not take this extra step? I bought reusable sandwich wraps, washable cloth napkins and makeup pads, and a washable cotton shower pouf. Although these reusable items were more expensive than the disposable versions, we’ll save money because we won’t have to keep buying more and more of them. I’m a little disappointed with the shower pouf, which is crotched, because it doesn’t lather as well as a plastic pouf and gets heavy with water. The cloth makeup pads also don’t work as well as the sponges, and they leave fuzz on my face. I’m very pleased with the other products, though. If trying out the less waste life works for me and my husband, we might go further with it. Here’s to saving the planet in our own small ways!

