Wow, it feels like I haven’t written in a while. The past few weeks have been so busy. There are so many things we want to do on the house, and never enough time. We both work on the week days, and every weekend we’ve had plans with family or friends. It’s certainly not a bad thing! Today was the first day in over a month that we don’t have somewhere else to be. It feels good to be able to breathe and work on the house at my own pace. I enjoy it and it really doesn’t feel like work.

Yesterday we went to Ikea with some of D’s family. It’s a 2 hour drive from where we live, so we knew it would be an all day thing. Despite the store being super crowded, I actually had a good time. I love looking at everything and thinking about how it would look in our home. I love having a house! With rentals, you can make all the changes you want to try and make your apartment homey, but you will have to change it all back eventually. It might be your home for now, but it doesn’t belong to you. 

It feels good knowing that our house truly belongs to us. We can do whatever we want to it to make it our home. D was kind enough to give me the final word on how we decorate (even though he ends up doing most of the work). So even something as simple as changing out the knobs on a cabinet feels like an accomplishment! 

I hope someday soon we’ll be done with all our projects and we can just relax and enjoy our house. I’m trying to do that now so I don’t wear myself out. But until then, I’ll try to keep blogging with regular updates on our progress. Now, it’s back to work!

