Here is what I wrote to my Facebook friends on January 1, 2017: 

Dear Facebook friends,

Happy new year! For my new year’s resolution this year, I am leaving Facebook. I’m going to try to go cold turkey all of this year, and if it goes well I will continue indefinitely. There are several reasons why I decided to do this. The main reason is that I just care too much about what people on Facebook think of me. I don’t post a lot on Facebook. When I do, it’s something that I think my friends will want to see, or a moment in my life that I think my friends should know about. Last year, I had some major and incredible life events happen. I got engaged! Then I got married! I was so happy to share those events with everyone on Facebook. But some of those major posts didn’t get the amount of likes or comments I was expecting. Maybe it’s because my friends don’t care about me, or maybe it’s because Facebook’s ever-changing algorithm decided my posts were not worth seeing. Either way, it made me feel a little less happy and a little less awesome about a really happy and awesome moment in my life. I wish I didn’t feel that way, but there it is. Maybe I haven’t been a very good Facebook friend to many of you, and if that’s the case, I’m sorry. I would be more than happy to be your real life friend! I’m not actually deleting my Facebook account, only because I use the Facebook messenger app a lot. But I won’t be using the site anymore. Hopefully, this will encourage me to connect with my friends in a more personal way, instead of with just a Facebook message. It’s important for me to do this because Facebook is a big time waster and I don’t want to feel like my life events are less significant than someone else’s because they got more Facebook likes on a post than me. That’s silly.

If you want to contact me, feel free to send me a message since I’m keeping the Facebook messenger app. I don’t want to make it harder for people to contact me. I might also be starting a blog, so stay tuned for that. Let’s stay in touch! In the words of my mother, “it’s been real. It’s been fun. It’s been real fun.”

